India Sings 7th Nuclear Treaty – This Time With Argentina

India and Argentina today signed an agreement in civil nuclear cooperation and nine other pacts with a desire to establish strategic partnership.

The agreements were signed after wide-ranging talks between Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Argentine President Cristina Fernando de Kirchner here.

The Agreement for Cooperation in the Peaceful Uses of Nuclear Energy was signed by Vivek Katju, Secretary (West) in the Ministry of External Affairs and Argentine Foreign Minister Jorge Talana.

Argentina became the seventh country with which India has signed a civil nuclear agreement after the 45-nation Nuclear Suppliers Group lifted a 34-year-old ban on nuclear commerce in September last year.

India has already signed similar pacts with the US, France, Russia, Kazakhstan, Namibia and Mongolia.

Leave a Comment